What I love about babies (but forgot I loved about babies).

1 Dec

**Warning to anyone grossed out by talk of nursing!**   This post is full of it. In fact, I, myself, am a person who is grossed out by nursing before having the baby and the again at very moment I am done nursing, but while I’m in it, I really do love it.  Apparently….

Fiona was a baby 7.5 years ago.  Rowan, 5.5 years.  I had forgotten so many things about true baby-hood until Henry.  As he is for sure our last, I feel compelled to document and cherish the moments this one last time.  Things I LOVE about babies and hope that I never forget:

  • As they lean in to nurse, they do a little left-right-left-right head shake with mouth open before they MUNCH down. Like a little milk monster.
  • Henry, like Rowan and Fiona, nurses with his big toe in my belly button.  Weird, I know.  But it feels so cozy, nostalgic, like home — for him too, I bet.
  • When they are asleep and dreaming of nursing, their little gaping mouths reveal the half-nursing tongue pulsing in, out, in, out.  Often in to a rhythm like pulse…pulse…pulsepulsepulsepulsepulse…..pulse…pulse… and so on.
  • When you put on a diaper, often you don’t get the diaper fully over both butt cheeks.  Sometimes, once you are done and he’s on his belly, you have to reach a finger in and pull the edge of the diaper out, feeling the soft chubby bottom against the back of your pointer finger. Heavenly.
  • At almost 4 months, Henry is doing one of my favorite moves:  laying on his back, he puts his legs in the air and holds his toes , rolling gently to the left and right while he smiles and drools.  Quintessential baby!  Even better addition: he’s starting to suck his toes now.
  • When babies are feeling shy or not that hungry but just snuggly, they will suck, suck suck three times then pull away and look out into the world.  Then suck suck suck three times then pull away and look out into the world.  Smiling at you before he “goes in” again.
  • 9 months:  CRAWLING.  o my god, how cute is the little side to side waggle of a crawling baby!  I could watch him from behind for hours (which works out, cause I MUST follow him constantly at this unstable, exploration phase.)  In the early days of crawling, a baby’s hand arcs up really high before they “slap” down on to the floor.  love that sound…
  • 10 months: the game of “catch me if you can”.  When you see Henry heading for the toilet water, and he sees you seeing him head for the toilet water, and he KNOWS he shouldn’t head for the toilet water, he starts to JAM! Faster and faster, head-down, laughing at the game of it all — determined to make it there before you make it to him.

What else???!!!  I’ll keep adding to this one, but help me. What do you love?! Help me remember!

Leave a Reply

